Seven-a-side Rugby : Fewer Rucks, fewer Mauls, more Rugby!
Home- About Database- Books- Tournaments

Hong Kong Sevens


Leslie Williams Award 

A popular figure in Hong Kong rugby, Englishman Leslie Williams was a rugby stalwart for the Hong Kong Football Club, as well as a member of the Hong Kong representative XV in the 1960s. After leaving Hong Kong with his family for New Zealand in 1971, Leslie would pass away of a heart attack 8 years later at the age of 45.

A year later, Leslie's many friends in the territory decided that it would be a fitting tribute to his outstanding service and contribution to local rugby, and his commitment to fair play, by creating an eponymous award for the outstanding player of the Hong Kong Sevens.

Since 1980, the coveted Leslie Williams Trophy has been awarded annually to the player, who in the opinion of the judge's panel best exemplifies the skill and spirit of seven-a-side rugby.

Brent Russell Winner of the Leslie Award Trophy in 2002

Past winners of the Leslie Williams Trophy include :

Year Player Team
2003 Henry Paul England
2002 Brent Russell South Africa
2001 Karl Tenana New Zealand
2000 Karl Tenana New Zealand
1999 Daisuke Ohata Japan
1998 Waisale Serevi Fiji
1997 Trophy not awarded - World Cup Sevens
1996 Christian Cullen New Zealand
1995 Jonah Lomu New Zealand
1994 Glen Osborne New Zealand
1993 Lolani Koko Samoa
1992 Mesake Rasari Fiji
1991 Eric Rush New Zealand
1990 Waisale Serevi Fiji
1989 Waisale Serevi Fiji
1988 David Campese Australia
1987 Dan Daly Hong Kong
1986 Tommy Smith United States
1985 Les Cusworth Irish Wolfhounds
1984 Etuate Gusuivalu Fiji
1983 Song You-Ho Korea
1982 John Maxwell Australia
1981 Mark Ella Australia
1980 Sab Doiwa Papua New Guinea

Copyright 1999-2022