Seven-a-side Rugby : Fewer Rucks, fewer Mauls, more Rugby!
Home- About Database- Books- Tournaments

Northern Territory 7s

Tournament Web Site:

CROC (Premium)
2019 Miwatj Stallions Western Sydney Casuarina Cougars Festerville Ind.
2018 Borneo Eagles Darwin Stallions Gumatji Cavaliers  
2017 Darwin Stallions Australian Dev. 3D Narraro  
2016 Darwin Stallions      
2015 Borneo Eagles      
2014 Hong Kong      
2013 Auckland      
2012 Borneo Eagles      
2011 Borneo Eagles      
2010 Borneo Eagles      
2009 Samoa Barbarians Randwick Darwin Dingoes Zonnators
2008 South Sea Drifters AUSTAR Mosquitoes Alice Springs Arongatahi NZ
2007 South Sea Drifters South Australia Brahmans Northern Territory Inv.
2006 Fiji Barbarians Aussie Legends    
2005 Aussie Spirit Potoroos Vic Vikings  
2004 Darwin Dingoes Burnside Dragons Green University
2003 Potoroos/Darwin Dingoes Casuarina Swampdogs University
2002 Hong Kong South Darwin Singapore CC Hong Kong
2001 NZ Battallion 3 South Darwin Poddies Casuarina
2000 Fiji Services University Poddies Pints Dragons
1999 Darwin Dingoes Albatross Lions NTIS
1998 Potoroos Aussie Signs Dingoes Pints Dragons
1997 Potoroos South Darwin Aussie Signs University Pirattes
1996 Burnside Palmerston Crocs Airport Hotel Cougars Casuarina Cougars
1995 Sydney University HMAS Albatross Pints Dragons Palmerston Sweethearts
1994 Duavata Bayside RSL Dragons  
1993 Hong Kong RSL Dragons Lions  
1992 Duavata Singapore Cricket Club Pandata Panthers  
1991 Sydney University Singapore Cricket Club Darwin U 21  
1990 AIS Crocs Cougars  
1989 Duavata Phantoms    


Beginning in 1989 as the Territory 7’s, the event has grown in popularity and size. The tournament’s profile has lifted with high profile teams from New Zealand, Fiji, Singapore, Hong Kong, Borneo, Japan, Kenya, South Africa and Australia’s elite teams having participated in the event.

In 2007 the tournament introduced a women’s competition. The standard of the women’s competition has grown enormously over the years to the extent that in 2016 there were current and former Wallaroos playing in various teams. In recognition of this increase in standard the prize money for the women’s major trophy, The Jabiru, will be raised in 2017 and announced later in the year.

With a total prize pool of $80,000, the Hottest Sevens In The World is the richest tournament in the southern hemisphere.

The support of the Northern Territory Government since 2009 has been pivotal, with support of $120,000 per year guaranteed until 2018. This investment has seen the profile of Sevens grow and in maintaining the lucrative prize purse, the tournament continues to attract high calibre interstate and international competition. The influx of visitors to Darwin for the event is a much need boost to the local economy during an off peak period.

Another coup for the sport was the announcement that in 2016 Rugby Sevens will make its debut at the Olympics. With the game continuing to go from strength to strength and entering an exciting new phase in its development, the Territory is proud to welcome all teams, both new and returning, to Darwin.

Copyright 1999-2024